Australia Day 2022

Australia Day 2022

AUSTRALIA Day at the Foreshore 2022

Join us at the Port Denison Foreshore for a day of celebrations this Australia Day, Wednesday 26 January 2022 8.30am - 12.30pm.

Lets celebrate with some entertainment, free kids activities, citizenship awards ceremony and more....

Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards 2022

Citizen of the Year Awards

Every community has local heroes. The 2022 Community Citizen of the Year awards gives you the opportunity to reflect on the positive impact of people and groups who are engaged and committed to our local community so that we can all celebrate their outstanding contribution. 

The Shire of Irwin invites you to nominate an outstanding local hero or group for one of the Community Citizen of the Year Awards to be presented on Australia Day Wednesday 26 January 2022. The awards foster, recognise and celebrate significant contributions to community life and active citizenship in all local government areas of Western Australia. The recipients will be selected from people and groups who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years through active involvement.

Nominations open Monday 11 October 2021 and close on Friday 26 November 2021.



Selection criteria

The winners will have been judged to have shown active citizenship by:

  • Significant contribution to the local community;
  • Demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life;
  • A significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life; and
  • Inspiring qualities as a role model for the community.
Eligibility criteria
  • Nominees should reside or work principally within the Shire of Irwin.
  • Awards may be granted posthumously in recognition of recent achievements.
  • A person cannot receive the same award twice unless the nomination is for a contribution in a different field.
  • Unsuccessful nominees may be nominated in future years.
  • Sitting members of State, Federal and Local Government are not eligible.
  • No self-nominations are permitted.
  • Contact details for Nominator must be stated.
Judging process & presentations

The judging panel will be made up of Shire of Irwin Elected Members. The judges’ decisions will be final.

Awards will be presented on Wednesday 26 January 2022 at the Shire of Irwin's Australia Day celebrations on the Port Denison Foreshore.

Nomination form

Nomination form

Nomination for: