Table to hold the design
Contact Us

Elections / Electoral Roll

Council elections are held every second year on the third Saturday of October. The Shire President is elected from amongst the councillors and represents the combined electorate.

Who Can Vote?


You can vote at Council elections if you are registered on the State Roll as a resident, before the rolls close.

Claims for enrolment on the State Roll should be made at any Australian Electoral Commission in Western Australia.

Owners And Occupiers

You are also eligible to be enrolled to vote if you are a non-resident owner or occupier of rateable property, provided that you are on a State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll. However, it is essential that you lodge an enrolment form. You can obtain an enrolment form from any local government office and lodge it with your local Council before closing day.

If you are not on a State or Commonwealth electoral roll, a claim can still be accepted, provided you were on the last owner and occupier's roll for that electorate and have continued to own or occupy rateable property in that electorate continuously since that roll was prepared.

To be eligible to enrol as an occupier, you will need to have a right of continuous occupation under a lease, tenancy agreement or other legal documents for at least the next 3 months following the date of the application to enrol.

Joint Owners And Occupiers

If a rateable property is owned or occupied by more than two persons, a majority of the owners/occupiers may nominate two persons from amongst themselves who are either on the State or Commonwealth rolls, to enrol as owner/occupier electors.


A body corporate which owns or occupies rateable property may nominate two persons who are on either the State or Commonwealth electoral rolls, to enrol as owner/occupier electors.

Where To Vote

Polling places are advertised in "The West Australian" and local newspapers prior to each election.

Roll Registration

If you need to apply for registration on the Shire's Roll or wish to check that you are enrolled, please phone the Rates Officer on 9927 0000.

For further information regarding elections, please contact the Director (Corporate and Community) on 9927 0000.

Local Government Election Candidates

Eligibility to nominate

Under the Local Government Act 1995, to be eligible to nominate as a candidate for a local government election, the candidate must be an elector of the district (residential or owner/occupier) and over 18 years of age. A person cannot nominate as a candidate if they:

  • are a member of the Legislative Assembly, the Legislative Council, the House of Representatives or the Senate (or has been elected as such a member but has not yet taken office)
  • are a member of the council of another local government
  • are an insolvent under administration
  • are in prison serving a sentence for a crime
  • have been convicted of a serious local government offence within the last 5 years (unless the court waived the disqualification)
  • have been convicted on indictment of an offence for which the indictable penalty was, or included:
    • imprisonment for life, or
    • imprisonment for more than five years.
  • are subject to a court order disqualifying him or her from being a member of a council because he or she has misapplied local government funds or property.


To nominate as a candidate for a local government election, the candidate must make a valid nomination application. This consists of:

All nomination applications must be signed by the candidate in front of a witness.

The nomination application must be presented to the Returning Officer at a pre-arranged appointment before 4.00pm on the day of close of nominations, 37 days before election day.

As the Returning Officer may ask candidates to amend their nomination, it is recommended that candidates ensure that they have allowed sufficient time to finalise any required changes prior to the close of nominations.


Latest News

2015 Local Government Election Results

On Saturday, 17 October 2015, the following candidates were announced as Councillors Elect in the 2015 Local Govnerment Elections;

SMITH, Michael
GUMLEY, Sandra
MEARES, Malcom

Further information in regards to the electoral results is available on the WA Electoral Commision website

On Monday, 19 October 2015, the newly elected Councillors made a decleration of office and a Special Meeting of Council was held to elect a new Shire President and Deputy President.

At the meeting, Cr Ian West was nominated and elected Shire President.

Cr Michael Smith and Cr Barrye Thompson were nominated for Deputy President. Following a ballot and count, Cr Smith was elected Deputy President.

After 20 years service as an elected meber, former Councillor and immediate past Shire President, Mr Stuart Chandler, was recognised by Council in honour of his leadership and contributions to the Shire of Irwin.

The Shire would like to also recognise and thank former Councillor Ms Riki Porteus for her commitment and contributions as an elected member of her four year term.


  • Draft Strategic Community Plan

    July 2017

    more >

  • Port Denison Foreshore Maintenance

    June 2017

    more >

  • 24 Hour Gym NOW OPEN

    May 2017

    more >

Shire Office PMB 21, 11-13 Waldeck Street Dongara WA 6525 | t 9927 0000 | f 9927 1453 | e |

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Accessibility Notice | © Shire Of Irwin

Western Australian Local Government Association
Market Creations - Marketing, Website Design, Graphic Design