Table to hold the design
Contact Us


Australian Flag

Australian citizenship symbolises our unity as a nation. It represents a commitment to Australia and its people, the values we share and our common future.

Citizenship ceremonies are conducted at the Shire. One of the most popular Citizenship ceremonies is held during the annual Australia Day celebrations on 26 January or on Citizenship Day 17 September. Citizenship application forms are available from post offices. For more information call the Citizenship information line on 131880 or visit the Citizenship website.

Please click here to view Shire of Irwin's Citizenship FAQ sheet.

Become a Citizen

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship confirm eligibility to participate in a ceremony by providing the Shire with a conferral report following the Departmental processing of your application The Shire will contact you to confirm when the next ceremony is being held.

The Australian Citizenship test resource book provides information on citizenship.

Australia Day WA Citizen of the Year 2017

Does anyone in your town make you proud?

Nominate an inspiring local community member or group today, for one of four awards fostering Australian Pride and Spirit.

The four award catagories:

  • Citizen of the Year;
  • Citizen of the Year - Youth (under 25 years of age);
  • Citizen of the Year - Senior (over 65 years of age)
  •  Active Citizenship Award (to recognise a community group or event).

The awards will be presented at the Australia Day Celebrations ceremony on Thursday 26 January 2017. Nomination forms are available from the Shire Office or can be downloaded from the Australia Day Council website on

Nominations close Friday 12 December 2016, please return completed nomination forms by post to Community Officer, Shannan Taylor, Shire of Irwin, PMB 21, Dongara WA 6525 or deliver to Shire Office, 11-13 Waldeck Street, Dongara.

Please contact Shannan Taylor on 9927 0000 or email

Australian of the Year Award

Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia. The Australian of the Year Awards provides all Australians with the opportunity to recognise someone who makes them proud.

The Awards operates at two levels - state/territory and national. State and territory selection committees select four finalists for each award category, with one of these finalists becoming the state/territory award recipient. State/territory award recipients then become the national finalists for the awards.

The prestigious year round program culminates in the announcement of the national award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve. The Australian of the Year Awards is a program of the National Australia Day Council. For further information visit the Australian of the Year Award website.

For more information contact:
Manager Community Capacity: Nicole Nelson
Phone: (08) 9927 0000
Fax: (08) 9927 1453

Shire Office PMB 21, 11-13 Waldeck Street Dongara WA 6525 | t 9927 0000 | f 9927 1453 | e |

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Accessibility Notice | © Shire Of Irwin

Western Australian Local Government Association
Market Creations - Marketing, Website Design, Graphic Design